The collaborative formula that created Le Grand Macabre (2010) and The Cunning Little Vixen (2011) – Giants Are Small with Alan GIlbert and the New York Philharmonic — reunited in 2013 to transform Avery Fisher Hall into the icy Swiss Alps and a mysterious Russian carnival for A Dancer’s Dream: Two Works by Stravinsky.

Alan Gilbert and the New York Philharmonic brought Stravinsky’s ballet scores to life as Giants Are Small whimsically blended music with ballet, puppetry, video projection, circus, theater, and more to conjure a fantastical dream world where a passionate ballerina gets caught up in a blizzard, dodges jugglers, and spars with puppets. A new paradigm of mult-genre story-telling.

“Exhilarating…spirited…spontaneous…Is this the future of the American orchestra?
Let’s hope so.”

The New York Times

“…a dreamy spectacle that keeps you endlessly on your toes.”

New York Post

Watch video excerpts from the show:

Part I – The Fairy’s Kiss

Part II – Petrushka